ELD - Electronic Logging Device


Senators Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) are leading a bipartisan letter to the Senate and House Appropriations Committees leadership voicing support for language passed in the House FY18 THUD Appropriations Bill that delays the implementation of the Electronic Logging Device rule for livestock haulers for one year. Rep. Roger Marshall (R-KS) is leading a similar effort in the House.


Included in the House passed fiscal year 2018 Transportation, Housing and Urban Development (THUD) funding bill is a one year delay of the Electronic Logging Device (ELD) mandate for livestock and insect haulers.

On September 12, Farm Bureau, National Pork Producers Council, National Cattleman’s Beef Association, and five other livestock, aquaculture and beekeeping organizations petitioned the Department of Transportation (DOT) for a waiver and limited exemption from the ELD mandate for drivers who haul livestock, live fish and insects. Last week, DOT announced a 90-day waiver for drivers transporting agricultural commodities and livestock from the ELD mandate.

On December 18, 2017, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s ELD mandate will go into effect except for those transporting agricultural commodities and livestock. Those haulers will be granted an initial 90-day waiver from compliance.


Most farmers and ranchers should be exempt from the ELD mandate because they can claim covered farm vehicle (CFV) status. For those who cannot claim CFV status will be able to take advantage of the 90-day waiver.  DOT will be publishing additional guidance and official notice of the waiver in early December.


State Farm Bureaus are encouraged to urge their Senators to sign onto the Moran/Heitkamp letter and their House members to sign onto the Marshall Letter.

Republican Senate members should reach out to Judd Gardner (Judd_Gardner@moran.senate.gov) in Senator Moran’s office and Democratic Senate members should reach out to Jared Henderson (jared_henderson@heitkamp.senate.gov) in Senator Heitkamp’s office to sign onto the Senate Letter.

House members should reach out to Lauren Orndorff (Lauren.Orndorff@mail.house.gov) in Rep. Marshall’s office to sign onto the House letter.

Both letters will close for signatures on Thursday, November 30th.



« Back to News